The East Cornwall Bank was established in 1807 in Liskeard by Thomas Robins, Richard Foster, Edward Coode, Thomas and William Bolitho. The partners (two solicitors and three merchants), were able to combine banking experience with business connections to ensure confidence from far beyond the local region. The business expanded with agencies becoming full branches, the towns represented including Bodmin, Callington, Camelford, Holsworthy, Looe, Launceston, Lostwithiel, Padstow, St Austell, Stratton and Wadebridge. The East Cornwall Bank was closely allied with the firm Bolitho, Sons and Co of Penzance, as many of the partners were related. In July 1889, the two Banks merged under the new title Bolitho, Foster, Coode and Co Ltd, otherwise known as Mount's Bay and East Cornwall Bank.
Material available at Group Archives: partners' ledgers; cheques; correspondence.